Honey and walnut no-bake granola

This recipe, combining delicious honey from M’s mother and gorgeous fresh Turkish walnuts, came about because, as much as I love Turkish breakfast, I’m still much more of a cereal girl in the mornings.

The first time I was given rice and curry for breakfast induced a personal crisis about whether I could really spend a year in Bangladesh. Even on not particularly exotic family camping trips, my sister and I used to spend every single morning for two weeks decrying the weird French version of Special K, not to mention the abomination that is UHT milk.

Now that I’m grown up and quite content not eating cereal for brekkie things are different. But I still long for cereal in the mornings. Of course you can buy all kinds of cereal here in Istanbul, but any cereal that looks half way decent (i.e. is not coco pops) is bloody expensive – none more so than plain old oats, which seem to cost about 15 TL (£5!) for a few hundred grams (if anyone knows where to buy oats that don’t cost the earth, please let me know!).

As a result, not only did I bring 160 Yorkshire tea bags with me this time (I know, I know, to a TEA PRODUCING country), I also brought 1 kilogram of porridge oats. This is probably some kind of customs law violation, but it has changed my life. Proper tea and a bowl of porridge each morning make me into a better person.

The only problem is, it feels a bit weird to eat porridge when it’s 30 degrees outside, so I decided to try making my own granola. Our oven is still out of action, so I Googled no bake granola and turned up this gem on the marvellous Kitchen Simplicity blog. My version uses honey instead of maple syrup because that’s what we had in the house, and it is delicious. Enjoy!

 honey walnut granola

Makes around 8 servings

Time needed: 20 minutes

 

What you need

2 cups porridge oats

2 cups chopped walnuts

½ cup runny honey

 

How to make it

  1. Place the oats in a clean, dry frying pan over a medium heat and toast until they start to release that nice oaty, flapjacky smell (they shouldn’t change colour). Once toasted all over, tip into a large mixing bowl and set aside.
  2. Repeat this process with the walnuts. These will need less time (only 2-3 minutes) so keep an eye out to stop them burning. Once toasted, add to the bowl with the oats and mix.
  3. Now take a small non-stick pan and heat the honey gently until it starts to bubble. Pour gradually into the mixing bowl, stirring all the time, until the oats and nuts and well combined.
  4.  Spread the granola mixture over a grease-proof-lined baking tray and leave until cold.
  5. This granola will keep in an air tight container for a couple of weeks – but just see if it lasts that long!

 

 Granola recipes I’m definitely going to be trying when we get a new oven:

 

