Nutella cheesecake

IMG_1937

Regular readers of my blog will have noticed that my last few posts have strayed somewhat from my usual recipe-posting form. Being here in Istanbul means that I have a lot on my mind, and I find writing about some of these things really helps me to process what’s going on in my head.

But just in case you thought this was the end of the recipe post on Green and Ginger, I’m here to show you that you’re wrong. Here is the recipe for that Nutella cheesecake I made when M’s family came for dinner, but which we forgot to eat. It’s been sitting in the freezer, getting smaller and smaller every day. Ordinarily, I wouldn’t freeze a cheesecake but since we forgot to eat it last week, I didn’t want it to go to waste – and it turns out that freezer cheesecake is surprisingly yum. I’m also generally a bigger fan of baked cheesecakes than non, but since our oven is not working (bring on the house renovation project – more on this later) I’ve been wracking my brains for delicious no-bake recipes – and this is definitely a good ‘un!

 

IMG_1938Serves: 8, generously (or 2 for more than a week!)

Time needed: 20 mins prep, overnight refrigeration

What you need:

250g plain biscuits (digestives, malted milks, petit beurres all work), crushed

120g melted butter

400g cream cheese

100g icing sugar

1 x 400g jar Nutella

2 tbsp double cream

2 big handfuls of unsalted hazelnuts, crushed (optional)

How to make it

  1. Line a 9” spring form cake tin with greaseproof paper.
  2. Begin with the base. Crush your biscuits, in a food processor if you’ve got one, or in a plastic food bag with a rolling pin if you don’t. You want them the consistency of fine breadcrumbs. Put the crushed biscuits in a bowl, and pour in the melted butter (if you’re using a food processor, just do it all in there. Tip the mix into the base of your cake tin, and use the back of a spoon to firmly press it into place all over. Put into the fridge to chill.
  3. Now make the cheesecake mixture. Using a fork, beat the cream cheese and icing sugar together until it forms a smooth, shiny mixture (make sure your cream cheese is at room temperature, or this will become much more hard work).
  4. Tip in the Nutella and carefully fold into the mixture, making sure the Nutella is evenly distributed throughout.
  5. Finally, fold in the cream and beat again, until the mixture is light and airy.
  6. Spoon onto the chilled crust, top with the hazelnuts (optional), and chill overnight. If you’re pushed for time, 4 hours ought to do it, but overnight is better.
