Peanut butter and banana smoothie

Laura and Will sampling the real thing

Laura and Will sampling the real thing

A few weeks back, after some tricky times in my Oxford household, I went out for drinks with Laura, Sophie and some of other friends from work. Drinks led to dinner, and we ended up at Atomic Burger on Cowley Road. Atomic Burger is a great place – they do a cracking array of burgers with pretty much any filling you can dream up, and all are wittily named after famous characters.

For me, however, the biggest draw is their thick shakes – peanut butter and chocolate being the mother of all shakes. The one I ordered that night lasted barely 7 minutes. I tried to drink it slowly, but it was too darn delicious – and then afterwards, all I wanted was another one.

20130508-191711.jpgConfronted, then, the morning after with an overripe banana that I didn’t really fancy eating, I decided to try out a version of my own rather than going cold turkey. I ended up with this, a peanut butter and banana smoothie, beautifully salty-sweet, with a good tang from the yoghurt. Of course, few things can beat ice cream, chocolate sauce and peanut butter in one glass, but it’s a valiant attempt.

 

Serves: 1

Time needed: 7 minutes

What you need

1 overripe banana

1 heaped tbsp Greek yoghurt

3 tbsp milk

1 tbsp peanut butter

1 tsp honey (optional)

How to make it

  1. Place all ingredients in a blender.
  2. Blend.
  3. Check the taste. Add honey if necessary.
  4. Blend some more.
  5. Drink.
