Peanut butter chocolate brownies

Writing this is torture. I’ve given up chocolate for Lent, something I haven’t done in years. I’m sure it’s doing me lots of good, but it’s really bloody hard. So now I have to live vicariously, through a chocolatey blog post.

FinishedBrownie

This is an adaptation of a standard brownie recipe, adjusted to include peanut butter – thereby not combining two of my favourite ingredients: crunchy peanut butter and chocolate. What finer combination could there be? I made it for a friend’s birthday a while ago, and it went down a treat.

It’s a really easy recipe, requiring just a few ingredients. My only word of caution is, let the brownie cool down completely before drizzling the melted chocolate and peanut butter on the top – I was in a hurry to get to the party, and my attempts at a drizzled heart ended in disaster.

Let me know what you think!

 

BrownieMixServes: 20

Cooking time: 50 minutes

What you need

400g dark chocolate, chopped into pieces (I always try to use Fairtrade when possible)

550g all natural crunchy peanut butter

450g muscovado sugar

5 medium eggs

200g self-raising flour

How to make it

  1. Preheat the oven to 180˚C, then grease and line a 20cm baking tray.
  2. In a medium non-stick sauce pan, melt all but 50g of the chocolate and peanut butter (reserve 50g of each for artful drizzling at the end). Once they start to melt, add the sugar and stir until the sugar is dissolved.
  3. Remove the pan from the heat, then beat in the eggs one by one, with a little flour. Once the eggs are combined into the mixture and it’s looking glossy, add the rest of the flour and stir well.
  4. Using a spatula, scrape the mixture into the prepared baking tray, then bake for 30 minutes until crisp on top. You want the centre to remain lovely and squidgy, so that when pierced with a skewer it comes out not quite clean.
  5. Remove the brownie from the oven and leave to rest for 5-10 minutes. Turn out on to a wire rack, and leave to cool.
  6. Meanwhile, microwave the remaining peanut butter in a cup until runny (just 10 seconds ought to do it). At the same time, melt the remaining chocolate in a small pan. When the brownie is completely cool, drizzle with the peanut butter and chocolate, then leave to set.
  7. Devour.
