Halloumi on toast: the perfect post-workout lunch

I’ve decided that one brilliant way to eat less meat is to eat more halloumi. I can’t quite believe that it was only a few years ago that I tried this incredible squeaky, salty cheese for the first time. But every step of our journey since then has been a treat.

This is a super simple but delicious lunch I made today after a gruelling 8 miles (how I’m ever going to make 13.1 is a mystery). I’m no nutritionist, but it felt like just what my body wanted (protein, carbs, vitamins) in a scrumptious and speedy way – ready in less than 20 minutes.

I know it’s a bit unnecessary posting a recipe for what’s essentially fancy cheese on toast, but it’s helping me stick to my eat less meat resolution so I’m gonna do it anyway…

Fancy cheese on toast

Fancy cheese on toast

Serves 1 (but easily doubles up)

Cooking time 10-15 minutes

What you need

3-4 slices of halloumi cheese

4 smallish slices of bread (or 2 big ones, cut in half)

1 clove of garlic, squashed

1 tomato, sliced thickly

2 big handfuls of spinach, washed

Black pepper

Fresh coriander or basil to garnish (optional)

How to make it

  1. Stick the halloumi in a small frying pan over a medium heat. You don’t need any oil here as the halloumi releases quite a bit of water and oil as it cooks. Allow the cheese to cook until the water evaporates and the colour is golden. Then flip over, and brown the other side too. Fork out of the pan and onto a plate.
  2. Meanwhile, pop the bread down in the toaster. Butter whilst hot (or don’t, if you don’t like butter), and wipe with the crushed garlic clove.
  3. In the same frying pan, lay the tomato slices out and grind over some pepper. Add a pinch of salt to help the juices release, but remember the halloumi is pretty salty so you don’t need much,
  4. Once the tomatoes are juicy and golden brown on one side, then turn and shuffle to the side of the pan. Now add the spinach, a bit at a time and allow to wilt in the tomato juices (I had to do this in batches as my pan was miniscule).
  5. When the tomatoes are cooked on the other side, remove from the heat.
  6. On each slice of bread, add a layer of spinach, a layer of tomato and top with the halloumi. Add a garnish if you fancy it, and devour.
