So long, 2012!

Before the race

Before the race

2013 is just five hours away now, so I’d like to take a minute to celebrate the outgoing year. 2012 has been a bit of a roller-coaster but I already feel nostalgic for it. I know this is a food blog and all, but writing my 2013 food resolutions felt strangely incomplete. So, if you’ll permit me a moment of self-indulgence, and in the interests of demonstrating that I’m a well-rounded character, here are a few of my best bits of 2012:

Running my first marathon in April. Training for it was a real slog, and there were several dark moments when I nearly jacked it all in, but with the support of my fellow runners and friends Serena and Leila, I made it in a sweaty and painful 4:47. And I’m already signed up to my next race.

Not guilty

Not guilty

Being found NOT guilty whilst on trial for aggravated trespass. I was arrested, along with 145 others during a political protest in March 2011. Although the charges against us were highly spurious, thirty of us had to stand trial. Appalling, the majority of that 30 were eventually convicted, and most are still awaiting appeals in a process that has become as farcical as it is lengthy.

Dr Whitaker

Dr Whitaker

My sister becoming a doctor. After six long years, my darling sister Emily is now the family’s first Dr Whitaker.

M and me at Christmas

M and me at Christmas

A year of brilliant adventures with M. It’s had its ups and downs, but we’ve made it through 2012. Here’s to many more years together.

Oxfam logo

Getting an amazing new job. I’ve been working at an inspiring international humanitarian and development organisation for almost two years now, although I started a new job in June. I’m not sure I’ll ever find a job more perfect for me, or more inspiring colleagues.

 

 

Related

