Why I started this blog

Caught in a rainstorm in Nottinghill

A couple of you have asked what led me to start this blog, so I thought I’d try to explain. The tipping point came last week, when I went to London to see my lovely friends Ashleigh, Lisa and Daniel. I hadn’t seen them for a while, and we had a great day, wandering along Portobello Road and around the stalls of Borough Market. It wasn’t until I was half way home later that night that I had my epiphany: I hadn’t stopped eating and/or drinking ALL DAY LONG.

Yes, it’s true. We’d spent the whole day eating: enormous pizzas for lunch; slightly strange almond-milk coffee, old fashioned lemonade, sumptuous brownies and flaxjacks (yep!) in between; finishing with a dazzling array of hot and cold Turkish meze on Upper Street. The day was just one frenzied, saliva-flecked eathathon.

Lisa and the strange almond milk coffee

As I sat pondering my day on the bus home, I realised just how much of my time is spent either thinking about food (what to eat, when to eat it etc) or engaged in food-related activity (writing lists, planning meals, shopping, cooking etc). When I don’t know what we’ve got in the house for dinner, I feel genuinely anxious. I spend a scarily large proportion of my hard-earned salary on food: when I got my first proper job I spent a month writing down everything I spent (I know, I know, it’s very sad), and was stunned by how much money I spent on food – either buying it to cook and eat at home, or going to restaurants, cafes and bars with my friends. I know if I repeatd the exercise now, several years later, the figure would be even more mind-boggling.

So that’s why I started this blog.

I’m always looking for feedback, advice, and ideas for new things to try, so if you’ve got a site of your own, or any thoughts on my blog, it’d be great to connect with you – just write a comment below to say hi, or follow me on Twitter @pheenywhits.

Want to know some more about me? Take a look here.

